All / Originally Posted on Skirt

This Milestone is Made of Diamonds: The Belly Dance Anthropologist Officially Earns that PhD

My dear Skirts and devoted readers everywhere, I am very pleased to share with you the news that my thesis revisions have been accepted and I will very soon hold a PhD in Arab and Islamic Studies! I found out on Monday and wanted to make sure the administrative paperwork was well under way before breaking out the party hats.

I am sorry if you’ve missed me during my long hiatus–I’ve been enjoying an extremely relaxing extended break in Florida and Pennsylvania with my family, having raced to finish and hand in my revisions before heading home for the holidays. But fear not, I’ve been collecting stories great, small, and mainly amusing to share with you since I last wrote. I look forward to a furiously productive blogging glut in the next few weeks, so stay tuned.

Share Your Thoughts

