All / Originally Posted on Skirt

Where are the Women? Raising their Voices

Excerpt from Skirt.com, click the link to read the rest
0
Egypt is the word in everyone’s minds the past few days. One question I keep hearing surprised me, though–some have asked me why no women have been out protesting. I could only raise an extremely skeptical eyebrow at them, because on the BBC, CNN and Al-Jazeera English I’ve seen many, many women filmed protesting and being interviewed for their thoughts.

What this says to me is that the people I speak to are seeing what they expect to see, the Egypt of their banal stereotypes, instead of what’s actually happening. With my research findings in mind perhaps I should have expected that people’s imaginings of Egypt are often stronger than the reality with which they are presented. Nevertheless I think this is very unfair to the women of Egypt who have been out campaigning to have their voices heard and influence the future of their country.

read more

Share Your Thoughts

